My First Attempt at Kale Chips

I felt like a domestic goddess the other day.

I made blueberry muffins with blueberries that I picked myself AND I made kale chips!

The kale came from the mobile food market. It was full and fresh and I wanted to find another way to eat it besides sauteing it on the stove. Chips seemed like a simple and convenient way to eat kale so, chips it was.

kale-chips-and-muffins

They were really simple to make. Here’s what I did:

Simple Kale Chips

  1. grease baking sheet
  2. preheat oven
  3. wash kale and pat dry
  4. tear off leaves into bite-sized pieces (compost stems)
  5. place kale pieces on baking sheet in single layer
  6. sprinkle with olive oil, salt and pepper ( to taste)
  7. bake until kale is golden on edges and is lightly crispy (about 20 minutes).
  8. let cool for 5-10 minutes
  9. enjoy!

Another friend suggested putting balsamic vinegar on them so I might give that a try. I suppose you can put on lots of different spices but I suggest keeping it light so as not to weight down the kale and make it tough to chew.

I’ve had kale chips once or twice before so I knew generally what they would be like but I don’t recall especially liking or disliking them. When I made mine though, I was a bit surprised; they tasted better than I remembered. Kale chips have their own distinct taste and texture. My brother and husband weren’t big fans of the chips but for me they were good enough to try again.

Here are a few of the benefits of kale:

  • High in iron (Good for someone like me who became anemic during pregnancy)
  • Contains antioxidants which help protect against different types of cancers
  • High in Vitamin A which is good for your skin as well as your vision
  • Helps to detox the body

 

Til next time,

Abena

 

Sources:

“Top Ten Benefits of Eating Kale” http://www.mindbodygreen.com/0-4408/Top-10-Health-Benefits-of-Eating-Kale.html

“Kale” World’s Healthiest Foods, http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=foodspice&dbid=38

 

Leave a Reply

