Shinrin Yoku: Forest Bathing, Anyone?

Shinrin Yoku is the Japanese therapy of “forest bathing”. The idea is simple- spend time in the forest being- not hiking or searching for birds or achieving anything- just being there.

People around the world recognize that there is something therapeutic about being in nature. According to shinrin-yoku.org, some of the scientifically proven benefits of forest bathing include improved mood, reduced stress, reduced blood pressure, increased energy levels and ability to focus. As spring approaches (so slowly like she’s mad at us), I find myself eager to spend time outside and go for walks around water and trees; to explore more of the outdoors in this province.

I’ll be travelling around Nova Scotia in an artistic capacity this summer. I also got my Canada 150 Pass in the mail a few months ago. It’s the perfect opportunity to combine the two and make an adventure of arts and parks!

As I wrote this post, this poem also began to form in my mind about spring in Nova Scotia and how I think she’s been trying to break up with us.

You can read it here:

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

